Pulpit Rock

£8.99

From the acclaimed author of HELL BAY comes the third instalment in the dark, atmospheric crime series set on the Scilly Isles. Perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves, Lucy Foley and Line of Duty.

ISBN: 9781471189890 Author: Kate, Rhodes Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK Ltd. Publication Date: 15th April 2021 Imprint: Simon & Schuster UK Ltd. Cover: Paperback Dewey: 823.92 (edition:23) Pages: 392 Language: English Edition: 1st paperback ed Readership: General - Trade / Code: K Category: Subject:

THE GRIPPING LOCKED-ISLAND MYSTERY # 4

‘Clever, atmospheric and compelling, it’s another masterclass in plotting’ Woman’s Weekly 

WITH A KILLER ON THE LOOSE
As the scorching summer sun beats down on St Mary’s in the Isles of Scilly, DI Ben Kitto and his team are training for the annual Swimathon, until they discover a body hanging from Pulpit Rock, dressed in a bridal gown.

ON A TINY ISLAND
An obsessive killer is hunting for female victims. Kitto has no choice but to stop anyone leaving St Mary’s, but soon another woman is attacked.

EVERYONE IS A SUSPECT
The killer must be a trusted member of the community. Kitto’s investigation is being watched closely, the killer always one step ahead, as the next victim is chosen . . .

NO ONE IS SAFE
 
PRAISE FOR KATE RHODES:

Gripping, clever and impossible to put down. I’ve been a Kate Rhodes fan for years and in Ben Kitto she has created a detective who is just as complex and compelling as Kate’s elegant plotting and stunning prose. The claustrophobia and paranoia of the island are so brilliant evoked, I could almost feel the tide encroaching as time ran out to find the killer’ ERIN KELLY

‘Absorbing and complex, Hell Bay kept me guessing until the final pages’ RACHEL ABBOTT

A vividly realised protagonist whose complex and harrowing history rivals the central crime storyline’ SOPHIE HANNAH

‘Beautifully written and expertly plotted; this is a masterclass’ GUARDIAN

‘Expertly weaves a sense of place and character into a tense and intriguing story’ METRO

‘Rhodes does a superb job of balancing a portrayal of a tiny community oppressed by secrets with an uplifting evocation of setting’ Jake Kerridge, SUNDAY EXPRESS

The whole book tingles with tension. I hope it does for the Scilly Isles what Ann Cleeves did for Shetland’ MEL MCGRATH

I love reading Kate’s books in the way I love reading Sophie Hannah – a poet writing crime fiction is a great thing . . . It is at once a locked-room mystery, a story of the returning hero, and an examination of fear and abuse. It has the air of a twenty-first century Agatha Christie JULIA CROUCH

In stock