Say it with poison

£8.99

ISBN: 9780747237068 Author: Granger, Ann Publisher: HEADLINE Publication Date: 5th September 1991 Imprint: Headline Cover: Paperback Pages: 281 Language: English Readership: General - Trade / Code: K Category: Subject:

When Meredith Mitchell agreed to stay with her actress cousin Eve in the run-up to Eve’s daughter’s wedding she anticipated a degree of drama. But she hardly expected it to include murder, blackmail and unrequited love.

Steering a path between police duties and family loyalty is not easy…

Say it with Poison is the first classic English village crime novel in the Mitchell & Markby series by Ann Granger, combining a satisfyingly complex mystery with engaging characters and wit. The perfect read for fans of M.C. Beaton, Agatha Christie and ITV’s Midsomer Murders.

‘A gripping tale… you’ll soon be addicted’ – Woman and Home

When Meredith Mitchell agreed to stay with her actress cousin Eve in the run-up to Eve’s daughter’s wedding she anticipated a degree of drama. But she hardly expected it to include murder, blackmail and unrequited love. Or to involve a certain Chief Inspector Markby, a middle-aged divorcee with an emotional history as unfortunate as her own.

A material witness to the only case of murder the Cotswold village of Westerfield has ever seen, Meredith also finds herself acting as mother-confessor to the bride-to-be, who is clearly not telling the whole truth about her involvement with the dead man. Steering a path between her duty to the police and loyalty to her cousin’s family is not easy; even for someone with Meredith’s considerable diplomatic skills. And especially as her personal enquiries into events in Westerfield start to disinter past affections Meredith would far rather leave buried – and to provoke new ones she’s not at all sure she can cope with …

What readers are saying about Say it with Poison:

Thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for a good English whodunit or just a really good story to keep the reader intrigued and interested to the last page

Hooked from the first page’

Brilliant in its conception, kept me thoroughly enthralled

In stock