The Safekeep

£16.99

Author: van der Wouden, Yael Published 30/05/2024 | Hardback
205 x 135 x 24 | 314g

ISBN: 9780241652305 Category:

‘Surprising, chilling, and electric’ Alice Winn, bestselling author of IN MEMORIAM’Moving, unnerving and deeply sexy’ Tracy Chevalier, bestselling author of GIRL WITH A PEARL EARRING’A house is a precious thing…’An exhilarating tale of twisted desire, histories and homes, and the unexpected shape of revenge – for readers of Patricia Highsmith, Sarah Waters and Ian McEwan’s AtonementIt’s 1961 and the rural Dutch province of Overijssel is quiet. Bomb craters have been filled, buildings reconstructed, and the war is well and truly over. Living alone in her late mother’s country home, Isabel’s life is as it should be: led by routine and discipline. But all is upended when her brother Louis delivers his graceless new girlfriend, Eva, at Isabel’s doorstep-as a guest, there to stay for the season…

Eva is Isabel’s antithesis: sleeps late, wakes late, walks loudly through the house and touches things she shouldn’t. In response Isabel develops a fury-fuelled obsession, and when things start disappearing around the house-a spoon, a knife, a bowl-Isabel’ suspicions spiral out of control. In the sweltering peak of summer, Isabel’s paranoia gives way to desire – leading to a discovery that unravels all Isabel has ever known. The war might not be well and truly over after all, and neither Eva – nor the house in which they live – are what they seem.

‘A twisting, elegant, intriguing story about the secrets we hide in our homes and hearts – and how it only takes one person to unlock the past.’ Joanna Quinn, bestselling author of THE WHALEBONE THEATRE’The Safekeep is a dream of a novel — mesmerizing and shockingly good — it lulls you with the lyrical beauty of its words and then slams you awake with its raw passion and rage. Part silent scream, part breathless love story — I was utterly blown away’ Miranda Cowley Heller, bestselling author of THE PAPER PALACE

In stock